RB Board of Directors 2022–2023

Chairman of the Board

Gunnar Jakobsson

Chairman of the Board

Gunnar Jakobsson took over as deputy governor of Financial Stability in Iceland on 1 March 2020.

Prior to joining the Central Bank of Iceland, Gunnar held various management positions at Goldman Sachs from 2001 to 2020, most recently as managing director of liquidity risk and privacy policy at Goldman Sachs International in London.

Gunnar is the chairman of the board of Greiðsluveitan.

Gunnar graduated in law from the University of Iceland in 1995 and and graduated with an MBA from Yale University in 2001.

Gunnar took a seat on the board of RB in December 2021.

Ásthildur Sturludóttir

Board memeber

Ásthildur has been the Mayor of Akureyri from 2018 and was previously the Mayor of Vesturbyggð from 2010. Before that, she was a project manager at the Rector’s office of the University of Iceland, project manager at Portus ehf. (company responsible for the construction of a concert and conference building), Managing Director of Samtök sveitarfélaga á Vesturlandi (SSV), i.e. the West Iceland Regional Office, and project manager for the Regional Development company of Samtök sveitarfélaga á Vesturlandi (SSV-Development and Consultancy).

Ásthildur sat on the Board of Directors of RÚV (Icelandic state television) until May 2016 and on the Board of Byggðastofnun (Icelandic Regional Development Institute) from 2014–2016. Ásthildur is a political sciences graduate from the University of Iceland and has a degree in administrative management (MPA) from PACE University in New York in the US.

Ásthildur was a member of the Board of Directors of RB from 2016 and until desember 2021. She is returning to the Board of Directors of RB in March 2022.

Halldóra Guðlaug Steindórsdóttir

Board member

Since 2017, Halldóra has worked as a group manager for domestic and foreign payment intermediation at Landsbankinn's Information Technology Division. She has extensive experience in this field and has worked for Landsbankinn since 2002 on various projects in the Bank's Corporate and Information Technology Division.

Halldóra was recently nominated by the Icelandic Association of Financial Undertakings (SFF) as representative of the Icelandic banks in the European Payment Council. The EPC is an international association of 75 financial undertakings and their association for the integration and development of secure payment intermediation in Europe. Halldóra sits on the board of Eignamyndir and on the board of Hamar badminton club.

Halldóra graduated in 2006 with a B.Sc. degree in computer science from Reykjavík University.

Halldóra took a seat on the board of RB in December 2021.

Riaan Dreyer

Board member

Dreyer has been Managing Director of Íslandsbanki's IT department since 2019.

Dreyer previously worked as head of software development at Arion banki and also worked in software solutions at Meniga. Prior to that, Dreyer was head of IT at Standard Bank and Liberty Life in South Africa.

Dreyer is a board member at the ISB Development Center Poland.

Dreyer holds a B.Sc. in actuarial mathematics and economics from the University of South Africa and a Master's degree in information technology from Pretoria in South Africa.

Dreyer took a seat on the board of RB in December 2021.

Styrmir Sigurjónsson

Board member

Styrmir has been the Managing Director of Arion banki Information Technology since March 2020.

From 2009, Styrmir worked for Natera in the United States. Natera specializes in the field of genetics and is listed on the Nasdaq CM Exchange. From 2012, Styrmir held various management positions at Natera and was director of research and product development from 2017. Before joining Natera, Styrmir worked for Straumur Investment Bank, FL Group and the Citi investment bank.

Styrmir completed a CS degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Iceland and a doctoral and master's degree in electrical engineering in 2006 from Stanford.

Styrmir took a seat on the board of RB in December 2021.

Corporate governance

RB Articles of Association. Corporate governance statement. Board’s Rules of Procedure. The rules of procedure of the Audit Committee. Remuneration policy. Rules of Procedure for the Remuneration Committee.